With Pydio, it is possible to share your folders and files publicly, privately and from version 6.4, also remotely.
To enable the ability for users to generate Public Links for their files, simply go to the ‘Sharing features’ screen in the Administration screens, and click on ‘Enable public links for files.
If you want it to work for folders as well - make sure that one of ‘Minisites and Workspaces’ or ‘Minisites’ is chosen.
- Use Rewrite Rule - Setting this, the default url will contain no php extension and no query string query arguments.
- Hash Minimum Length - The minimum length for a file Hash user-editable** - Allows end users to choose their own hash for the link
- Maximum file expiration limit 0 = unlimited
- Maximum file download limit 0 = unlimited
- Set password mandatory - Requires users to set a password for their public link
- Force External Mailer
- Create QRCode (deprecated)
- This functionality is enabled by default.
- If you want to enable / disable the functionality for folders - make sure that one of ‘Minisites and Workspaces’ or ‘Workspaces’ is / is not chosen.
Remote sharing (Pydio Cloud)
- To enable the ability for users to share their files privately with one or more users on a separate system, simply go to the ‘Pydio cloud’ screen in the Administration screens, and click on ‘Enable Federated Sharing’.
The Share Dialog Box is accessible by clicking on the Share button in the Information bar on the right hand side, or from the right click menu, after having selected a file or folder
This functionality is useful if you want to share files or folders from your Pydio to multiple users that don’t have an account in your Pydio network. When you activate it, a public url is generated and you can then copy and paste it to share it with anybody with an Internet access. They will be given access to a mini-version of the Pydio interface where they can view the file or folder you wanted them to see.
But if you don’t feel too good about people having free access to your stuff, you can always set permissions so that they cannot Download (nor Upload for folders). You can also set a password that people will need to enter, limit the number of days this link will be accessible for, or set a maximum number of downloads allowed for this particular link.
Still not feeling reassured about that, why not try privately sharing with known Users.
This functionality is great if you want to share files or folders to users that have an account within your Pydio network (Local users)
Since version 6.4 of Pydio, you can also share with who have an account on another Pydio instance, or even instances of other Storage Platforms such as ownCloud (Remote Users) Warning : the instance needs to be reachable from the server where the Pydio server is installed (talk to your Pydio administrator if you need it to be setup or if you have an error after sharing).
Simply go to the Users section of the Share Dialog Box, and :
- For local users, start entering the username of the person you want to share your stuff with.
- For remote users, enter the url of the Pydio instance the user is registered with (e.g. http://www.pydio.example/pydio) and then the username. It will send a request to the user and he will need to either accept or decline your invitation. The request will show ‘pending’ as long as the request is not being answered by the remote user.
Once the file has been shared, or the invitation has been accepted, you will be able modify the permissions assigned to the user (read/write).
For people who know their way round the sharing world, a few advanced perks have been added such as :
Notification - If enabled, this will trigger Alerts whenever the content has been accessed or modified.
Layout - Defines a default layout.
Share Visibility - Enable users wioth whom you share the workspace to view and edit the sharing options you have set up.
Items shared with me
If you can share files and folders with others, people can also share files or folders with you (tadaaam !) If you’re wondering where to find those items, just look at the left bar (directly visible on the home page, or by hovering over the button on the left hand side) under the section Shared with me.
If files are shared with you, you will see a Workspace named SHARED FILES, where you will find all files shared by all users, local or remote.
The number of files that have not been seen yet will be shown as a tag.
Approval is required for and only for files that have shared with you remotely. You will see a list of pending invitations at the top and you can either Approve or Reject each from the top bar or the information bar on the right hand side.
If you start having a lot of content shared with you, you can filter it using the search box or the different filter tags on the left hand side.
If you have folders shared with you, you will see multiple Workspaces listed under SHARED FILES. Folders that have never been accessed will be tagged NEW.
Only ‘remotely shared items’ are concerned by the following functionality :
You need to approve folders that have been shared with you by a remote user. Upon access, a warning will be issued asking you to decide whether you want to continue accessing it, or never hear from it again.Back to top